Springfield Symphony Orchestra Presents: From the New World

Oct 19


While living in New York, Czech composer Antonín Dvořák became interested in Native American music and African-American spirituals. His Symphony No. 9 - From the New World, is a thrilling and poignant thesis of American folk and indigenous melodies woven into the traditional Western symphonic structure and is one of the most popular masterworks in the orchestral repertoire. We will introduce our audience to Joan Tower's Grammy-Award winning composition Made in America, which weaves America the Beautiful into an intriguing and haunting tone poem. And in a nod to the "old world," we will hear Beethoven's delightful and charming Violin Concerto, performed by our very own Concertmaster David Hays. 

Joan Tower - Made in America
Beethoven - Violin Concerto
                  With David Hays, Violin
Dvořák - Symphony No. 9 - From the New World

  • New world 4bfd0089 5056 a348 3abaf547e34a3cbb


Dates Oct 19
Location Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts
Address 525 S. John Q. Hammons Pkwy. - Springfield, MO 65806
Website http://www.springfieldmosymphony.org/concerts/october/new-world
A thorough effort has been made by the Springfield Convention & Visitors Bureau (SCVB) to provide complete and accurate event listings. This information has been gathered from reliable sources, but it is still possible that all information may not be accurate. In addition, events are occasionally canceled, rescheduled, or postponed for a variety of reasons, and the SCVB is not always aware of these changes. As a result, the SCVB is not responsible for the accuracy of event information. It is recommended that participants verify information with the event organizer prior to attending or purchasing event tickets.

Start Date

Close ×

End Date

Clear Date Close ×