PBR Bull Riding by PFITo officially commence the inaugural homestand event for the new Missouri Thunder bull riding team, a bull named Malaki will visit Springfield Mayor Ken McClure at 10 a.m. today at the Route 66 Springfield Visitor Information Center, 815 E. St. Louis St.

The Missouri Thunder is an elite team of professional bull riders that will play five-on-five bull riding games against seven other Professional Bull Riders teams from around the country Sept. 23-25 at the Thunder Ridge Nature Arena in Ridgedale.

Competing in the landmark PBR Team Series, the Missouri Thunder will play in their inaugural homestand in the debut games of Thunder Days. The Missouri Thunder will take on the Carolina Cowboys Friday, the Nashville Stampede Saturday and the Oklahoma Freedom on Sunday.

McClure and staff from the Springfield Convention & Visitors Bureau will meet and greet Malaki, PBR stock contractor and Missouri Sports Hall of Fame inductee L.J. Jenkins and bull riders in the grassy lot adjacent to the Route 66 Springfield Visitor Center operated by the CVB.

"We're excited about having a PBR team in the Ozarks," said Susan Wade, public relations manager for the Convention & Visitors Bureau. "It's one more thing that will draw visitors to the area and help keep the local economy strong."

The CVB is a nonprofit marketing agency dedicated to boosting the local economy through growth in overnight travel and tourism to the area. Learn more about the CVB by calling 417-881-5300 or visit www.SpringfieldMO.org.


The Missouri Thunder is based at the beautiful Nature’s Amphitheatre in Ridgedale, Mo., where the team will hold its inaugural Thunder Days homestand on September 23-25, 2022, the eighth event of the 10-event 2022 PBR Team Series regular season. The Missouri Thunder are coached by co-captains and bull riding legends Luke Snyder and Ross Coleman.

Under the leadership of General Manager Randy Bernard, the Missouri Thunder are owned by Johnny Morris, noted conservationist and founder & CEO of Bass Pro Shops. Since getting his start in 1972 by selling fishing tackle out of the back of his father’s store, Morris has earned a reputation as one of the most visionary and influential retailers of the last 50 years. Today he is known as a retail and travel destination pioneer, as the company provides customers with unmatched offerings spanning premier destination retail, outdoor equipment manufacturing, world-class resort destinations and more. In conservation circles, Johnny Morris is often referred to as a modern-day Theodore Roosevelt for his leadership, personal commitment, and dedication to conservation efforts. Today, he is one of the country’s leaders working to ensure natural habitats, wildlife and the outdoors remain healthy and abundant for future generations to protect and enjoy, having established a significant personal legacy that spans national initiatives and extensive partnerships supporting conservation organizations.


The PBR Team Series is an elite new league featuring the world’s top bull riders competing on teams in five-on-five bull riding games during an 11-event season that began in July and culminates in a team championship at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas November 4-6.  During the 2022 season, each of the eight teams representing teams in Austin, TX; Fort Worth, TX; Glendale, AZ; Kansas City, MO; Nashville, TN; Oklahoma City, OK; Ridgedale, MO; and Winston-Salem, NC will host a three-day homestand.  There were also be neutral site games in Cheyenne, WY and Anaheim, CA. To determine team rosters, the league held a rider draft on May 23 prior to start of the 2022 season among any bull riders who have declared for the draft during a league eligibility window. The PBR Team Series builds on the existing structure of professional bull riding with the same basic rules for judging and scoring qualified 8-second bull rides. Events are staged in a tournament-style format with all teams competing in head-to-head matchups against a different opponent each day. Each game features five riders per team squaring off against another team. Full team rosters are comprised of seven riders on the core roster and three practice squad members. The team with the highest aggregate score of qualified rides among its riders is declared the winner of each game. The event winner is the team with the most game wins across an event, with a special bonus round designed as a tie-breaker to determine final event standings. All PBR Team Series events are carried on either the CBS Television Network, streaming live on Paramount+, CBS Sports Network, or RidePass on Pluto TV.